Poppin’Party’s Five Consecutive Interviews ⑤【Ohashi Ayaka】

5th out of 5 consecutive interviews held just before 3rd live.

I noticed “things that were like Saaya”

3rd live is just around the corner, what is your current state of mind?

Ohashi: Oh god (laughing). At first I did my best to at the very least “play the drums”, but as the skill demanded by the performances increased, and the songs got more and more difficult, I got nervous about the live performance…… or rather, filled with anxiety about whether or not I could properly do it. Recently the lesson pace has increased, as we’re in the final stretch.

Are there any particularly difficult songs on the drums?

Ohashi: The ED (“Kirakira datoka yume dakota ~Sing Girls~”) is difficult. Compared to that, I was able to learn the score for the OP (“Tokemeki experience!”) relatively quickly. I mess up the ED countless times, even the teacher was telling me, “this is bad”. Even now I’ve been practicing while listening to the sound demo, but this time the drum sound came from a professional, so I have to cover that technique……. However that person’s strong points are my weak points, so I cry every time (laughing)

Does it feel different playing drums with the band rather than what you’ve done up until now?

Ohashi: Playing the drums alone and doing it with a band have always been completely different. For example, I’ve become able to do “kakimawashi (the performance where at the end all members jump with the drum sound at the core)”, but it was unexpectedly difficult, and when it’s my turn to sing I can’t easily jump, and there’s a lot of times where it’s “amazing”, but there’s now also lots of times where I can’t hold the initiative as the drum. It’s just, I think that I’ve finally gotten used to what I was searching and searching for at the beginning. In the first place, this isn’t something you would do if not in a band, so it was a rare experience.

You’re more confident that you’re able to do more things now right?

Ohashi: As another example, I’ve become able to play “fast songs”. Bandori! has a lot of songs that are over 180 BPM (the tempo is 180 beats per minute), but 160 is already tough on me, but I think that though it’s clumsy, I’ve become able to coordinate my playing.

Since you’ve learned lots of things for the 3rd live, is there anything you’d like to challenge?

Even now, I’m not very good at “not getting distracted and giving my undivided attention at the performance”. I think that drums can match to the song in the performance, and my teacher was recently telling me it would be great if I could meet those expectations already. I think it would be great if I could show “from here on out I’m meeting those expectations little by little” at the 3rd live.

Ohashi-san, you normally have a lot of vocal positions, but have you felt weird as the drummer?

Ohashi: I haven’t had much experience “standing on stage while constantly looking at the backs of people’s heads”, so it was a mysterious feeling at first. It’s just, this position of looking at the rest of the band from behind, I thought, Saaya is doing everything she can on the drums…… I’ve come to notice that sitting in my position.

Finally, state your enthusiasm as we approach the 3rd live!

Ohashi: Even though I feel this is around the 2nd live, this is already the 3rd live so this is difficult. Even the venue is the same as last time, the same Tokyo Dome City Hall, and there’s pressure in doing something in the same location…… that I have to show something different, of course this times performance and setlist, and since the anime has begun, I have confidence that the new things will be able to reach everyone. On the day of the performance at the venue, please wave around your “star shaped penlights”, I think it’d be great if we could see the wonderful scenery!

~BanG Dream! Second☆LIVE Starrin’ PARTY 2016!の模様~

Leave a comment